# BOURNEMOUTH, CHRISTCHURCH AND POOLE COUNCIL

## **APPEALS COMMITTEE**

### Minutes of the Meeting held on 02 July 2019 at 10.10 am

Present: Cllr S C Anderson, Cllr D Borthwick, Cllr N Hedges, Cllr M Le Poidevin (Vice-Chair, in the Chair) and Cllr P Miles

Also in<br/>attendance:Carly Williams – Admissions Services Team LeaderMichelle Cutler – Democratic and Overview and Scrutiny Officer

#### 13. <u>Apologies</u>

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs P Hilliard (Chairman) and G Farquhar.

#### 14. <u>Declarations of Interests</u>

There were no declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests made by Councillors.

### 15. <u>Confirmation of Minutes</u>

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the Meeting held on 4 June 2019, having been previously circulated, be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

### 16. <u>Exclusion of the Press and Public</u>

RESOLVED that the Committee agreed to exclude the press and public for items 5 and 6 of the Agenda, under Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 in Part I of Schedule 12A of the Act and that the public interest in withholding the information outweighs such interest in disclosing the information.'

### 17. <u>School Transport Appeal</u>

The Committee considered an appeal against the refusal to provide home to school transport assistance in the form of a bus pass.

In considering the appeal, the Committee had regard to all the supporting information provided on behalf of the appellant and by the Local Authority, including verbal submissions made by the Local Authority at the meeting. The appellant was not in attendance at the meeting. RESOLVED that having taken careful note of all the evidence presented by both parties, the appeal in respect of the appellant named in Report 'A' not be upheld, as there are insufficient grounds to overturn the Home to School Transport Policy on this occasion.

18. <u>School Transport Appeal</u>

This item was withdrawn.

The meeting ended at 10.41 am

<u>CHAIRMAN</u>